Two Bot’s Journey Finished!

My experience during this game’s development:

I spent 2 weeks and 6 days, from 1/16/2017 to 2/4/2017 making this game by myself as a hobby, including planning time. In the last couple of days, I didn’t do much other than polish the game. I came up with the idea ahead of times. I worked for an average of 5 hours per day on the game. I usually planned out everything I needed to code ahead of times and wrote down my ideas so I wouldn’t forget them. The programming only took about a week, while making levels, adding sounds, and other art related stuff took the rest of the time (assets are from Unreal Marketplace). I sort of messed up at first because I made the second character on the ceiling instead of to the right, but it didn’t really work well. The original scene was floating cubes in space, but it didn’t look right to me, so I changed it. The hardest part of the game was making levels. Coming up with original ideas for each level is hard, but testing each one out after building them to make sure they are playable is a nightmare. To make gameplay as smooth as possible, I had to adjust the rocks so that all the jumps can be landed more consistently. Overall, this was a fun experience and I would definitely update the game if I have time.

Some basic tips that were useful:

  • Write down the stuff you need to do, even if its to adjust some really small detail. You don’t want to forget about anything.
  • Make sure you have a solid plan/idea and don’t lose sight of it during the development. Have a picture of what the game looks like in your mind.
  • If you are making a game with levels, start designing or at least coming up with the ideas throughout the entire development. Do not procrastinate coming up with level design ideas to the very end. You can make the levels easily after you have the ideas. It is very hard to come up with a bunch of ideas really fast when you are actually building the levels.
  • Prototyping a simple map/level with cubes and making sure that it is fun is very important. It takes more time than just building the whole level, but you can make adjustments to your idea before you actually build the whole level.

You can download and view the game here.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

